Cervical Cancer Stages

Stages Of Cervical Cancer

stages of cervical cancer
The stages of cervical cancer and specifics of the staging, will not change over time or even if the cancer progresses.  Any type of cancer that does recur or that metastasizes (spreads), is still referred to by the same stage it was given originally when it was first found and diagnosed. Only information about the current extent of cancer is added. Below is information on the staging of cervical cancer.

The video provided is for you to learn more about the staging of cervical cancer. Getting a pap test is crucial to find any abnormal cells that may growing along with pelvic exams every year, especially if you are sexually active.  Even though I got my regular checkups, if you read my cervical cancer story, you will see that some pap smears do not always pick up cancer.  Pap smears can give a false negative or they can give a false positive.

It is up to you however; to tell your doctor if something just isn't right even if your pap comes back normal.  My cancer was not detected on a pap smear, so that is why I reiterate the importance of letting your doctor know if you are having problems that just doesn't seem right. I had many cervical cancer symptoms for several months before it was detected.

Cervical Cancer Stages Stages 0-2

Stage 0:  Means "carcinoma in situ" which means that the cancer cells that have not invaded deeper tissues. These cells are really basically superficial and are only found on the surface.

Stage I: Cancer cells have invaded the cervix, however;  it means the Cancer is still confined to the cervix

Stage 1B: Means the cancer areas are larger but still only in the tissues of the cervix and may not have spread. In stage 1B, the cancerous lesions can usually be seen without a micro-scope, but not always.

Stage IB1-The cancer is no larger than about 4 centimeters.

Stage IB2- The cancer is larger than 4 centimeters across.

Stage II:  The cancer has spread, but only to nearby tissues and is still contained in the pelvic area.

Stage IIA: Cancer has spread to only the upper part of the vaginal area.

Stage IIB:  The cancer has spread into the tissues near the cervix. This type of tissue that is invaded is called the parametrial tissue.

Cervical Cancer Stages 3 - 4

Stage III: In stage III, the cancer has spread to the lower part of the vagina and/or the pelvic wall.

Stage IIIA:  The cancer has spread to the lower part of the vagina and is contained in the area.

Stage IIIB: The cancer spread to the pelvic wall. It also includes cancer that blocks the flow of your urine to the bladder4) cancer means the cancer has spread to other areas of the body. It is the most advanced stage of cervical cancer as it has metastasized to the other organs.

Stage IVA: Cancer has spread to areas close to cervix, such as the bladder and/or rectum.

Stage IVB: Cancer has metastasized to other organs. This is the most Advanced stage of cervical cancer with lowest survival rate. In few instances, some treatments can still be, if possible, considered for prolonging life.

How Is The Staging Of Cervical Cancer Diagnosed
Cervical cancer staging process can be done in several ways. Some of these tests include, but not limited to:
  • Pet Scan 

  • MRI
  • Ct Scan
  • X-Ray
  • Laparoscopy
  • Cystoscopy
  • Ultrasound